4 June 1989

Today is the 20th anniversary of the election of the first democratic non-Communist Government in Poland after WW II, the event which presaged the later changes throughout Eastern Europe and the USSR of that revolutionary year.
Today is also the 20th anniversary of the brutal and unprovoked massacre of the student protesters in Tiananmen Square, Beijing, by the PLA, under the illegal orders of Deng Xiaopeng and his henchmen.  Only the brave Zhao Zhiyang, then General Secretary of the Communist Party of China, and Hu Qili, then a Politburo Standing Committee member, argued against Deng’s decision to impose martial law within the ruling party internal discussions.
This post honours the heroes who died or were imprisoned in that period.   Previous posts in this series are here.

A. J. Nathan and P. Link (Editors) [2001]: The Tiananmen Papers. Compiled by Zhang Liang, with an afterword by O. Schell. (Little, Brown and Company, London, UK.)

Ziyang Zhao [2009]: Prisoner of the State: The Secret Journal of Premier Zhao Ziyang. Edited by Adi Ignatius. Foreword by Roderick MacFarquhar.  Translated and edited by Bao Pu and Renee Chiang. (Simon & Schuster, New York, USA.)

0 Responses to “4 June 1989”

  • No Comments

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.